The University

On January 3, 2019, President Rodrigo Roa Duterte signed into law Republic Act 11170, An Act Amending Republic Act No. 9718, Entitled: “An Act converting the Naval Institute Of Technology in the Municipality of Naval, Province of Biliran into a state university to be known as the Naval State University, integrating therewith the Biliran National Agricultural College in the Municipality of Biliran and appropriating funds therefor”. The said law also  provided that “…in order to effect a smooth transition, the incumbent OIC President of the Naval State University shall serve as the first and full-fledged and duly appointed President of the University whose term is considered as a transition period for four (4) years. Thus, with the approval of the BiPSU-Board of Regents, Dr. Victor C. Canezo, Jr. was installed as the first University President of Biliran Province State University.

Its humble beginning as an academic institution started in the year 1945 with the establishment of a secondary public high school, the Naval High School through Municipal Resolution No. 35 issued by Hon. Pablo Caneja, the late Mayor of the Municipality of Naval which started its operation in the School Year 1946-1947.

A law was approved converting the Naval High School into a chartered Higher Education Institution (HEI) under national funding through Republic Act 4309 naming it as Naval Institute of Technology (NIT) which took effect on August 31, 1972. The said law also provides the offering of technological, engineering and education and other professional and vocational courses in the collegiate level.

The institution’s journey towards being a state university could be traced back with the approval and passage of House Bill No. 4414 and signed into law by Her Excellency Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo on October 14, 2009. Republic Act 9718, entiltled: “An Act Converting the Naval Institute of Technology in the Municipality of Naval, Province of Biliran into a State University to be known as the Naval State University, integrating therewith the Biliran National Agricultural College in the Municipality of Biliran and appropriating funds therefor.” paved the way for the elevation of NIT to NSU, installing Dr. Edita S. Genson as its first university president.

After Dr. Genson’s full term as the first University President last November 2013, the seat for presidency remained open for election. Several nominations and search were organized but all failed because of the provision stipulated under Section 9 of RA 9718 that states, “xxx… no person shall be appointed as University President if he/she is related by consanguinity or affinity up to the third civil degree to any incumbent local or national official…xxx”. Following this provision, no one qualified for the seat.

To resolve this, the NSU-Board of Regents (BOR) decided to designate an OIC University President to man the university. For the past five years, four OIC-Presidents were authorized to continue the operations and implementation of the programs, plans and activities of the institution namely Dr. Minerva E. Sanosa, Mrs. Nenita S. Sereno, Dr. Matias A. Bentor and Dr. Victor C. Canezo, Jr.

Last 2017, in an attempt to amend the RA 9718 and install a full-fledged president, House Bill 6065, An Act renaming the Naval State University (NSU) in the Municipality of Naval, Province of Biliran as the Biliran Province State University (BILSU) and removing the prohibition on the appointment of the university president and private sector representatives was endorsed by Representatives Rogelio J. Espina, Ann K. Hofer, Antonio L. Tinio, France L. Castro, during the Second Regular Session of the 17th Congress. The said legislative bill was approved on third reading by the House of Representatives on August 14, 2017. On August 14, 2018, the bill, sponsored by Senator Francis “Chiz” Escudero, was approved by the House of Senate

            At present, under the baton of leadership of a young and visionary leader, BiPSU continues to mark a name in the academic and educational sphere among institutions in the country and soar high in its quest for excellence and quality education. Proof to that is the university’s commendable accomplishments in the field of instruction, research, extension and production services.

BiPSU- Biliran Campus

BiPSU-Biliran Campus is the former NIT-Biliran (BNAC) which was established in 9149 as the former Biliran High School. By virtue of Republic Act No. 2421, the school was converted into an agricultural institution renaming it as Biliran Rural High School in 1960.

Republic Act No. 5983, approved on August 4, 1969, further converted the school into a tertiary institution known as the Biliran National Agriculture College (BNAC). It was temporarily integrated to VISCA, Baybay City, Leyte and later transferred to NIT/ NSU in 2002 by virtue of RA 9718.

The University Presidents




Mr. Alfredo C. Josep


SY 1950 – 1971


College President

SY 1971 - 1991

Dr. Francisco B. Ebio, Sr.

OIC College President

SY 1991 - 1992

Dr. Juanito S. Sison

College President

SY 1992 - 1999

Dr. Esperanza D. Pajo

SUC President

SY 1999 - 2004

Dr. Edita S. Genson

University President

SY 2004 - 2013

Dr. Minerva E. Sañosa

Officer-In- Charge

Nov. 18, 2013 –to July 30, 2015

Mrs. Nenita S. Sereño

Officer-In- Charge

July 01, 2015 –to-January 31, 2016

Dr. Matias A. Bentor, Jr.

Officer-In- Charge

Feb 01, 2016 –to–May 31, 2017

Dr. Victor C. Cañezo, Jr.

Officer-In- Charge

June 01, 2017 to February 12, 2019


University President

February 13, 2019- present

  • 1
  • 23
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1

Brilliance. Innovation. Progress. Service and Unity
P.Inocentes St, Naval, Biliran Philippines 6560

(053) 507-0014