Get to know the Governing Board of the Biliran Province State University!

The Governing Board or the Board of Regents (BoR) is the university's highest policy-making body. The composition, manners of appointment, powers & duties of the members, and other functions of the Board emanate from the Republic Act 8292, otherwise known as the Higher Education Modernization Act (HEMA) of 1997.
Commission on Higher Education (CHED) Commissioner Aldrin A. Darilag, Ph.D., CHRP, RMT, RN chairs, and presides over the Board.

BiPSU President Dr. Victor C. Canezo, Jr. serves as the Vice-Chairperson.

The House of Senate and the House of Representatives are also represented in the Board. Senator Joel Villanueva, the Senate Committee on Higher, Technical, and Vocational Education (CHTVE) chairperson, is being represented by Hon. Sammy A. Sale, Head of the General Services Office of the Provincial Government of Biliran while Representative Mark Go, House Committee on Higher & Technical Education (CHTE) chairperson is being represented by Hon. Jerome T. Arcenal, a Member of the Sangguniang Panlalawigan of the 1st district of Biliran.

Per RA 11170, regional directors of the National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA), Department of Science and Technology (DOST), and the Department of Agriculture (DA) shall hold seats in the Board. Hon. Meylence C. Rosales, OIC Regional Director, represents NEDA. Hon. Ernesto M. Granada, Regional Director, the DOST; and Hon. Angel C. Enriquez, Regional Executive Director, the DA.

Moreover, the private sector is represented by Hon. Alex L. Solamo and Hon. Marvin James A. Lo whose terms have just been extended, having been reappointed per BiPSU Board of Regents Resolution No. 42, 2020.

Hon. Leonard I. Olaer, the Interim Student Regent, represents the student sector per BiPSU BoR No. 25, 2020. Hon. Olaer will be in such capacity until the conduct of an election determined by the administration and the student council and be further recognized as a bona fide member of the Board.

Meanwhile, Hon. Vennie G. Coton represents the faculty of the university being the President of the BiPSU faculty association.

The alumni sector remains unrepresented since December 2012 due to a pending court decision.

Overall there are twelve (12) members in the BiPSU BoR.

Mr. Joedel O. Penaranda serves as the Secretary of the University and of the Board of Regents.

All communications addressed to the Board should be sent to the Office of the University & Board Secretary at BiPSU main campus or to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Brilliance. Innovation. Progress. Service and Unity

P.Inocentes St, Naval, Biliran Philippines 6560

(053) 507-0014